Double Taxation Agreements Portugal

To date, Portugal has signed double taxation agreements with: South Africa, Germany, Algeria, Austria, Barbados, Belgium, Brazil, Bulgaria, Cape Verde, Canada, Chile, China, Cyprus, Colombia, Korea, Cuba, Denmark, United Arab Emirates, Slovenia, Spain, United States of America, Estonia, Finland, France, Greece, Guinea-Bissau, Netherlands, Hong Kong, Hungary, Hungary, Hungary India, Indonesia, Ireland, Iceland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Kuwait, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macau, Malta, Morocco, Mexico, Mozambique, Norway, Panama, Pakistan, Peru, Poland, Qatar, Great Britain, Czech Republic, Democratic Republic of Congo, Republic of Uruguay, Romania, Russia, Singapore, Sweden, Timor – For more information on how to avoid double taxation, you can contact our firm. The table below lists the contracts concluded by Portugal and published by the tax authorities to avoid double taxation: there is no threshold/minimum number of days that exempt the worker from the obligation to report and pay taxes in Portugal for Portuguese working days. However, the application of a double taxation agreement may mean that the worker has no registration obligation, provided that the worker spends less than 183 days in Portugal and that the individual`s income is not paid or charged by a Portuguese unit. In international practice, there are three fundamental methods for eliminating double taxation: international double taxation is an obstacle to trade relations and the free movement of goods, services, people and capital. The need to remove this obstacle has increased in the current context dominated by new technologies and the internet. By regulating the right of the countries concerned to collect taxes, it is possible to avoid transfers of income and capital to other countries solely for tax purposes and to strengthen relations (economic and otherwise) between the countries concerned. On the other hand, the exception to this mandatory rule is the situation in which the non-resident does not meet the conditions set out in a bilateral agreement or where such an agreement does not exist, so that only the State of origin (in which the income obtained is taxable) applies internal tax policy to the income of non-residents operating on its territory.